2006 R8 - Stock Pickups?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Stringrazor, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Stringrazor

Stringrazor Member

I bought my R8 new in 2006 just before the VOS line came out (s/n verifies it was made in early 2006, Jan IIRC). I've loved playing it since the day it arrived and haven't changed a thing. Don't know why I waited 30+ years but I'd always wanted an LP. Recently, I bought a new SG Standard, another guitar model I've wanted since I started playing as a kid in the mid 60's. I've been entertaining myself with A/B'ing these two great guitars (thru a 69/70 SFDR, 80's Marshall Jubilee combo and various fx). I know the specs on the SG's pups but what's in the R8?

2. justonwo

justonwo Member

If I'm not mistaken, they were using Burstbuckers 1 and 2 back then.

3. Tim Plains

Tim Plains Member

If you look at the underside of the pickups, you'll see the BB stickers.

4. billstets

billstets Member

I also have a 2006 pre-VOS R8. They're BB1/BB2.

At one point I took them out and put in Duncan Antiquities. Thankfully I didn't sell the BBs, because after a year or so, I put them back in. The BBs are more lively and fun to play. The Antiquities weren't bad, but kind of bland. All in my humble opinion of course. I've tried different PAF style pickups over the years, including WCR, and I think the BBs are a perfectly legitimate PAF style pickup, even though people rag on them here.

5. Stringrazor

Stringrazor Member

Thanks for the informative replies! What differences should I notice between the R8's BB 1/2 and the SG's 490R/498T?

6. justonwo

justonwo Member

The Burstbuckers sound good and the 490R/498T don't. :)

Burstbuckers are vintage style pickups with low output and, in my opinion, much better clarity and nuance.

The 490R/498T combo is for a modern, higher gain sound. I find them to be muddy and inarticulate.

7. Stringrazor

Stringrazor Member