3-Way Tele with SeriesParallel & Out-of-Phase Options - Push-Pull Pots

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by GabeJE, May 1, 2016.

1. GabeJE

GabeJE Member

I am new to this page, so please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong spot. Also, I have no experience with wiring or building at all but I want to experiment.

Anyway,

I am going to wire my tele with push/pull pots in the volume and tone. One of them is going to be series/parallel, the other is going to be in phase/out of phase.

I already purchased two DiMarzio 250k push/pull pots.

My question is this: What else do I need to purchase?

What kind of wire do I need to buy for this?

Do I need any electrical components like a capacitor or a resistor?

I am ignorant, so any input would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Here is the diagram.

[​IMG]

2. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

you'll need thin stranded hookup wire, like 22G or thinner. (the bigger the number the thinner the wire, so 28G might be just right for wiring the little contacts on the push-pulls.)

you'll need that one capacitor for the tone pot, the .047μF.

you'll need the neck pickup to have that third separate ground wire for the metal cover (or to not have a metal cover at all.

finally, have you heard a guitar with these options?

series gives you a volume and low end boost, but unless the pickups are hum-canceling when they're both on, you'll get a big noise boost too.

"out of phase"* on fenders to me just sounds really thin and nasty, like you have a broken pickup.

both at the same time might be tolerable, the fat boost of series compensating for the big low end cut of "out of phase".

*it's actually "out of polarity", everybody just says "out of phase".

falderguitars likes this.
  3. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member