335ish guitars

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by griff3, Jul 20, 2008.

1. griff3

griff3 Member

I'm looking for a new guitar in the Gibson 335 style. I'd love a 335, and may get one, but I'd like to look around at some other similar options.

I know about Epiphone Sheraton II guitars, but I also know that Ibanez and Yamaha (among others) make that style.

I don't care about the price, I play Suhr, Anderson, Fender, Gibson, and Ibanez guitars. I do this for a living.

Please include a website if you've got it. And if it's a discontinued guitar that's fine too, I'll loo it up on ebay. Thanks.

2. HRydarcik

HRydarcik Member

You really can't go wrong with one of the MIJ Tokai 335s...I bought an ES 120 about 7 months ago and absolutely love it...I previously owned a 1997 Gibby 335 and a 2000 Heritage 535...I wouldn't trade my Tokai for either of those guitars, that's how good they are. Straight out of the box the setup was perfect as was the intonation....fit and finish are flawless...fretwork is immaculate and top notch hardware and electronics....the people at Tokai really take pride in their work and it shows with their MIJ guitars.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. bluesrules

bluesrules Member

I never had the privilege of owning a real Gibson 335 yet but I have two Wasburn HB30's that I love. One's a '97 with real hot stock humbuckers and the other is a '05 with very nice sounding clean stock pickups. It's amazing how different 2 of the same model can sound opposite of each other thru the years.

They are made in Korea but don't let that scare you, great craftsmanship for the price.

BTW: the Washburn HB35 is the slightly more expensive model, Inlays and such.

4. Dave Orban

Dave Orban Gold Supporting Member

5. HRydarcik

HRydarcik Member

You're not missing anything.

6. guitardr

guitardr Silver Supporting Member

7. bluesrules

bluesrules Member

Ok....What 335 style guitar do you use?

8. HRydarcik

HRydarcik Member