5-Way Switch Wiring Question

Bencav

Howdy everyone, I'm new to the Gear Page and my question is regarding the purpose of a jumper wire in some wiring diagrams. I have a HSS MIM Strat which I am in the process of upgrading with new pickups, pots, and some new wiring functions (auto coil tap, neck on switch wired to a push-pull neck tone knob, Fender TBX tone pot for bridge and middle pickup, treble bleed).

OK, now my question. What is the purpose of the jumper wire going from the end of stage 1 to the opposite end of stage 2? In the picture I have uploaded, it is represented by the green wire.

I've read the Premier Guitar article "The Anatomy of the Stratocaster 5-way Switch, Part II" but it did't make sense to me. This is also the source for this image.

Many thanks in advance.

stratamania

The terminals marked A are the common terminals for each side of the switch. A is always in circuit regardless of where the switch is, the green line in the diagram is joining both A terminals together so that anything at the side marked stage 1 is joined to A at the side marked Stage 2 so the output will flow to the volume pot.

The A terminals are joined as they are always in circuit at each side but not joined together, without joining them together in the above circuit you would get no output.

The volume pot is generally then output to the output jack.

StratoCraig

The switch is pretty simple. One of the things that can be confusing is that it's really two separate sets of connections. The purpose of the A-A jumper is to join those two sets.