52 Hot Rod Tele Humbucker or Mini-Humbucker?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Radagacuca, Jul 20, 2008.

1. Radagacuca

Radagacuca Member

as i am totally new to the telecaster (played gibsons for most of my playing life) i finally decided i can´t go on without a tele and those new 52 hot rod teles look very interesting due to their neck pickup config.
    any of you tele lovers that have compared the two please let me know what the difference in tone there is between them (full size neck humbucker vs. the mini hum, i imagine i would feel scary without a ´bucker on board :)).
    is there a huge difference between those even in the middle position?
    as i play mostly bluies oriented classic rock stuff i wonder which one would suit me better. as i am in germany where the full size hb version is not available there´s no way to compare the two.

thanks,
    joe

2. JimmyR

JimmyR Member

I had a CS Tele with full-size HB at neck and found that even lwered as much as I could it was still too loud compared to the bridge pickup. In the in-between position it sounded fantastic but that made the bridge pickup sound too wimpy in comparison. I don't use the in-between so much anyway - I like Teles for the bridge pickup mainly.

So now I have a Hotrod Tele and it's awesome. The pickups balance really well and the neck mini-HB is a great sound there. I really think that this is one of the best Teles I've had.

3. MickeyJi

MickeyJi Member

...exactly! Best Tele for me too!

The bridge pickup is quite hot without sacrificing the quintessential Tele sound and the minihumbucker is a perfect match. It does the thick blues thing as well as a really nice jazz sound and seems to have more dynamics and pronounced attack than a normal sized humbucker.

:band

4. twangbanger

twangbanger Supporting Member

Been thinking about going w/ one of those mini humbukers in one of my teles. What would be a good match for a vintage style bridge PU?

5. Dave Orban