'57 Gibson GA-5 crackling...

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by NatStrat79, Dec 15, 2005.

1. NatStrat79

NatStrat79 Member

I just got a 57 gibson ga-5 amp about a week ago and while it sounded amazing at first it seems to be going downhill..Today when i fired it up i noticed that when i would turn the volume up above about halfway that there would be a drop in the volume of the amp and then it would start crackling and sound kinda farty when id play notes on the lower strings. Id tried changing out all the tubes but that didnt really help. Im planning on recapping it this weekend and crossing my fingers that that helps but im still new at this fixing up old amps thing so i could sure use some advice on some other things to look for while im in there.

2. NatStrat79

NatStrat79 Member

Well i discovered the problem so i thought id post incase someone else has a similar problem in the future. I replaced all the electrolytics including the cathode bypass caps and the crackling was still there. Also at higher volumes the volume would drop down as you played a note as if you were turning the volume down on your guitar a notch or two. Then i also noticed that the volume pot was making a swishy ocean sound when i turned it up and down. Turns out that coupling cap right before the volume control was leaking DC. replaced it with a new mallory 150 and all is well.

3. VintageJon

VintageJon Member

GOOD WORK!

The wax/parer cap you replaced is no doubt the culprit. When you are doing a cap-job on an old 50's amp replace all the wax/paper also as they leak badly after 50 years.
    Just did a cap job on a McIntosh 100W mono-block and replaced the wax/paper cap along with the electrolytics. Same hold true for any chassis over 30 years old.

Again- Good Work,
    Jon

4. NatStrat79

NatStrat79 Member