• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

5e3 Build not working HELP!!

notune

This is my first build, the filaments for the tubes are light up but the pilot light is not on and i have no sound. Where do I start ? I have a DMV but I don't know about this kind of troubleshooting.

xtian

Gold Supporting Member
Make sure a speaker is attached properly! Any hiss or hum at all?

For the pilot light, measure for AC across its terminals. Should be 6.3vAC. (Maybe the bulb is burned out.)

Next, check all your voltages. B+ should be around 400vDC. Make a chart of tube positions (V1a, V1b, etc.) and record DC voltages for each anode and cathode.

If all the voltages check out, then it's time to check the signal path.

I'm going fast. Let me know if you need more detailed instructions!

notune

Make sure a speaker is attached properly! Any hiss or hum at all?

For the pilot light, measure for AC across its terminals. Should be 6.3vAC. (Maybe the bulb is burned out.)

Next, check all your voltages. B+ should be around 400vDC. Make a chart of tube positions (V1a, V1b, etc.) and record DC voltages for each anode and cathode.

If all the voltages check out, then it's time to check the signal path.

I'm going fast. Let me know if you need more detailed instructions![/QUOTE
How do I check my B+ with a meter?

joelster

Silver Supporting Member
Check you work. Match every wire and connection against the schematic, one by one. As you do, take a pencil and make a checkmark on the schematic at each confirmed connection and component. There are just too many possibilities to give an answer from your post but if you take your time you'll find it.

Last edited:

StanG