5e3 build project-need some help pls

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by IBTom, Aug 26, 2008.

1. IBTom

IBTom Member

I've just completed a 5E3 kit. The kit is from Triode. It's my first build and I'm definately not a tech, by any means.

All initial tests were good, no smoke, no blown fuse, all tubes lit up nicely, very light hum. I gave it a solid 5+ minutes warm up time and tried out my guitar. No sound. I did some poking around with a bright light and magnifying glass and id'd a wire on one of the 6v6s had broke. I soldered it back on, still no sound.

I'm not sure where to begin in trouble shooting this. I've traced every wire from turret to final point to ensure I've matched the schematic. I've tested resistors on the board, and they all test to, or very close to thier intended value. I haven't began to test actual voltages yet, since my thoughts are that if voltages were not up to par, there would be other problems noted.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Tom

2. ked

ked Supporting Member

The first thing I would do is check voltages to make sure you at least have voltage where it is should be. Check you input wiring, make sure it is correct and not grounding out the signal. Look at the solder joints, reflow anything that seems iffy. Make sure your tubes and speaker are good. You said you tested all the resistors so I assume they are correct and in the right location. Also, check the output jack, make sure it is wired correctly and grounded. If you touch the grid of V1 with a probe you should get a pop through the speaker. HTH.

Ken

3. hasserl

hasserl Member