5U4 vs 5AR4/GZ34

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by slhguitar, Feb 27, 2006.

1. slhguitar

slhguitar Member

Are these comparable, and close enough in voltages that a Bias for 5881/6L6s would not be necissary? Its for a fixed-bias mesa dual rectifier. Any thoughts on which sounds/feels better?

2. phsyconoodler

phsyconoodler Member

If you bias with the 5AR4,you can sub in the 5U4 and not worry.The 5U4 has more sag and can be spongier feeling.6L6's are biased quite a bit different that 5881's,so a rebias will probably be necessary.

3. Swarty

Swarty Member

5AR4 = about 20V over a 5U4.

4. slhguitar

slhguitar Member

That there is the problem. I'm fairly new to the whole amp tech world (only a few months in), and my amp is fixed-bias, with no pot for bias adjustment. What I suppose I was trying to get at is, would 5AR4s run a voltage that is within the safe range for regular Sovtek 5881s? If not, I have no problem with using 5U4s, I have simply heard good things about GZ34s in Mesa Rectifiers. Thanks.

5. Shea

Shea Member

Those Sovtek 5881s can take rather high plate voltages, so I would't worry about that aspect. But I would check the biasing, because the increase in plate voltage is going to change the power dissipation at idle.

IMO Sovtek 5881s sound better when biased a bit on the hot side, so it might turn out that you don't have to change anything in the bias circuit. But I would still check it.

Shea

6. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member