68 Pro Reverb Consensus

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Boogie92801, Feb 16, 2006.

1. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

Drip edge and original speakers.

What is a fair price for one of these? Is 1000-1100 ok in good shape?

Should I hold out for a blackface? Or wait for Vibrolux to come along?

2. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

3. mcknigs

mcknigs Supporting Member

That price looks reasonable to me, assuming it's in pretty good shape cosmetically and doesn't need work (caps, tubes?).

If it were me I wouldn't hold out for a Blackface. I've been pretty happy with BF'ed SF Fenders. I'm not an expert but I don't know as there's much difference between a '68 SF PR and a '67 BF PR.

Re: PR vs VR... I guess your less likely to find yourself in a situation where you're underpowered with the PR, though there's not a *huge* difference. Do you have reason to believe you would prefer the 2x10" config to the 2x12"?

Of course you've probably considered all of the above already.

-Scott McKnight

4. Lammy

Lammy Member

Those drips are pretty much Blackface amps for the most part, most are exactly other then cosmetics( dont forget they are also becoming pretty rare and real desirable)...I think the price is fair, cant you get a blackface for about the same price? 1200?

5. myles111

myles111 Member

Great amp

Good price if it were here in L.A.

6. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

Good points all. Really I need something for outdoor gigs. I use a lightning for indoors and I have bandmaster that I am giving to my daughter.

The +'s of the vibroluxe is size and I think they are more valuable even if I have to pay more. I would also asume it has a tighter bottom end (I do not like the flabby bottom on the bandmaster - especially affter playing a matchless for a while).

The pro is probably better for outdoor gigs and the truth is it will only be needed about ten times a year as most of the time we play indoors.