1. Sparky6string

Sparky6string Member

I have recently purchased my first amp that requires these so I have little to no knowledge of them. It says 6ca7s are needed, but from what I understand el34s can be used. If I want to use only el34s are there any mods that I would need to do to the amp to optimize them? Also, are there any general inherent differences in sound chatacteristics between these two tube types?

2. 52ftbuddha

52ftbuddha Member

American and European part numbers. Similar specs but different makers. Different makers and construction types will sound quite different. Big can many worms.
    Rob

3. Sparky6string

Sparky6string Member

Thanks Rob. I read recently though that there is a slight difference in the wiring of amps that contain the two different tubes. The new EH 6ca7s get excellent reviews, but so do the Winged C el34s. Trying to decide really between these two.

4. UfoPilot

UfoPilot Member

I put the EH6ca7's in my plexi. I liked the openness of the sound better than the =C='s The =C='s were the best sounding of all the EL34's I tried but I just liked the EH6ca7's better. If you want a more compressed sound go with the =C='s for a more 3d sound with more bass go with the EH's :AOK

5. Sparky6string

Sparky6string Member

Nice! I think I'll probably get both starting with the Winged Cs. Thing is- my amp puts out plenty of bass as it is. Also I think I'm looking for a more genuine el34 sound. Sovtek deserves kudos though for producing a great 6ca7 and I'll show my appreciation by buying some.

6. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member

IMO, you can't say that one type of tube sounds this way or that. Its largely dependent on the design of the amplifier - and of course the musician's tastes. This isn't an invitation to start a discussion on this. I wish these types of subjective dialogues would be confined to another less technical group.

7. Trout

Trout Member