6l6-6v6 vs el34-el84

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by bugman, Sep 20, 2008.

1. bugman

bugman Member

can you explain the differance between the amps that use these tubes,i know marshall uses el84s and fender uses 6l6,and all the boutique stuff uses eather,whats the main break down on the sounds,im new at this and this is a great source of info you guys are useuly right on with helping answers

2. Frankee

Frankee Wartime Consigliere

American Sound (Fender) 6L6, 6V6.
    British Sound (Marshall) EL34, (Vox) EL84.

3. riffmeister

riffmeister Gold Supporting Member

6L6 and EL34 are ~25 watt tubes

6V6 and EL84 are ~10 watt tubes

So 2x6L6 and 2xEL34 amps are going to produce more power than 2x6V6 and 2xEL84 amps. Amplifing low frequencies requires more power than amplifying high frequencies, so typically the higher powered amps have more low end.

4. bugman

bugman Member

more info needed, will the 34 and 84 produce more gain then the 6l6 and 6v6 and the lower watt tubes break up faster?

5. riffmeister

higher wattage tubes have more "clean headroom" meaning they will be louder when they begin to saturate compared to lower wattage tubes.

6. Austinrocks

Austinrocks Member

Interesting I had a Marshall Studio 15 which used 6V6 tubes, always thought they were EL-84 tubes till after I had sold it.

Anyway, 6L6 is an american 30 watt tube, so you can multiply the number of tubes and get the power, two tubes 60 watts, four tubes 120 watts, the manufactures number is just a number, they usually post something that is easy for them to get or will sell the amp, how loud the amp is really depends more on the speaker not the power, but that does not impress.