80's 335 Dot Re-issues?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Ryguy, Jun 11, 2008.

1. Ryguy

Ryguy Member

I am possibly looking for a 335 around 2K, and have seen people here speak really highly of the early 80's DOT RI's; I have no experience with them, and can't try any out right now, but am looking for any feedback from those familiar with them. What is the neck profile for these, and is it pretty standard?

thanks,
    Ryan

2. jeffwith1f

jeffwith1f Member

I have a 335 dot RI from within the first couple of months from the release.
    it is awesome. Definately in the top 3 playing instruments I have (out of 23). it can pretty much play anything I try to throw through it. an absolute bargain. I have also heard that the early one's have Tim Shaw Humbuckers
    is there any way I can tell?

3. cap'n rory

cap'n rory Member

Shaw pickups will have an inked number in addition to a stamped patent number. The inked number will have a three number prefix indicating the type, bridge or neck followed by a four number sequence indicating production date.
    Examples would be: 329 0630 indicating neck pickup produced June 30. and
    330 0630 indicating a bridge pickup produced on the same date.
    I've learned this from a thread on the Les Paul forum, on the other Gibsons side of the forum.
    I must check mine when I do a bridge and lightweight tailpiece swap at the next string change. My guitar just got back from a refret as I hated the low wide original frets. It now has the standard Gibson 6130 type frets on it. I lost the nibs, but got Mike Tuttle style bullet end fret dress and I'm real happy with them. The tech also changed out the pots to 500K volumes and tones and left the original capacitors. I meant to ask him whether he noticed the ink numbers on the back of the pickups, but it slipped my memory, to do so.