A British flavored player looking for a Fender style amp.. Input please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by melvins, Mar 15, 2015.

1. melvins

melvins Supporting Member

Alright guys,

I'm new to the Fender camp and have never really been a fan but appreciate the tones.

From what I've heard I think I like Princeton tones but am worried it wouldn't keep up with the band.

We play blues/rock with a semi hard hitting drummer. My amps have consisted of mainly a Matchless SC30 and or a Lightning. Just picked up a Marshall JCM40 as well and am surprised how well it sounds after some tube swaps.

With that said, is there a louder Princeton? I think I like that 6V6 "squishyness", if that make sense.

I plan on selling or trading my SC30 to fund this..

2. sublimeaudio

sublimeaudio Silver Supporting Member

There are some Princeton like amps that have more power (and bigger speakers) than the standard Princeton. My vote is the Louis Electric Princetone. You can put 6L6 tubes in it to get more power/headroom (28W). It also has a 12" speaker and sounds big.
    I think Headstrong also makes a higher powered version, but generally you'll need to use 6L6 tubes to get that power. With 2 6V6 tubes, you can only get up to around 20 watts, but that may not be enough for what you describe.

3. 335guy

335guy Member

Well, the Fender Princeton Reverb Amp tops out at 15 watts, whether you get a vintage one or a Reissue. You can get a bit more volume from one if you go to a more efficient speaker and use JJ 6V6's, which are a nice, modern tube. Sort of a cross between a 6V6 and a 6L6.

But there are some "clones" that reportedly have a bit more volume. For those, look to Allen Amps, Headstrong, Clark, Vintage Sound, etc. Those are more modern interpretations of the Princeton Reverb. BTW, A Fender Deluxe Reverb also uses 6V6 tubes and is noticeably louder. It does sound a little different than a Princeton Reverb, but still retains the Fender sound.

4. Custom50

Custom50 Member