• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

A Good Song To Master

theHoss

Howdy,

I am a long time guitarist looking to improve my abilities. I have started taking lessons again which are providing me a solid theory and technique background. I would like to begin learning songs that I could work on at home, something that is complete with a solo guitar. (i.e. not the lead to Black Magic woman, or Stairway to Heaven). I would like the piece to be complete with one guitar.

Can you recommend one that might be a good choice. Here are the criteria.

1) Intermediate level
2) Any type (jazz, blues, folk, whatever)
3) Complete as a solo guitar.

Thanks much!

Kappy

Midsummer's Daydream (Rick Emmet, Triumph)
The Clap or Mood for a Day (Steve Howe, Yes)
Solo guitar arrangements of Bach, look for preludes, etc
Chet Atkins solo tunes
Jerry Reid solo tunes
Joe Pass (anything from the Virtuoso series of CDs --just him playing solo)

That oughta' get you started. Good luck!

Clifford-D

A good place to start would be to get a good handle on who does what.

Blues is great for solo guitar, check out Joe Pass

If you want separation between Bass, melody and chords check out
Tuck Andress or Martin Taylor or George Van Eps or Howard Alden or ???

I happen to love Bill Frisells approach to solo guitar. With his minimalist
approach and broken clock ideas.

Then there is Chet Atkins, Michael Hedges, Leo Kottke, John Rebourne and so on.

Every one of these guys, living or dead, has material, books you can study and learn from.

Look and see what tunes they have chosen, figure out the 'why' of it.

Good luck.

Here is a link to some Frisell transcriptions

http://www.geocities.com/enalnitram/book.html?20079

Clifford-D

Those are great suggestions, thanks! I will look into one of them.
I dig my Monkey, but not as much as my Greenline od by SPF, I pump my Monkey into the Greenline