A Guitarist's Carpal Tunnel Experience

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by jca345, Apr 27, 2015.

1. jca345

jca345 Member

Any advice on how to best deal with Carpal Tunnel besides surgery? I have been playing on/off for the past 25+ years and go through spurts where I am really inspired to play, but wind up extremely symptomatic after the first few days of playing. Numbness, pain, lack of limber feeling, hands falling asleep, etc. Sleeping positions are even compromised--the best one seems to be flat on my back--which I hate. I am sure some of you guys/gals know exactly what I am talking about.

I have been slowly building up my pedalboard over the years and have been inspired to work out a few stomp box overdrive circuit ideas lately. And I find that I am definitely becoming an FX Junkie. But the hands are somewhat FUBAR'ed.

[​IMG]

Sorry if this one has been beat to death...

JCA

2. Noise Under The Floor

Noise Under The Floor Supporting Member

"In the drag of this atmosphere" (Maryland)
    Man, I feel for you. I'm in the same situation. One thing I've found that helps is sleeping with this type of brace on both hands/wrists:

[​IMG]

My CT is always at its worst in the mornings when I wake up. If I wear those braces it actually does help and I don't wake up with the burning and numbness in my hands. My hands and wrists are then in a less aggravated condition from the start of my day, which helps a lot. They also make some shorter ones that are more like gloves that I try to wear throughout my work day, but its hard. They're available at just about any pharmacy store.

Short of surgery, which I just don't really feel like doing, the Dr told me "managing" it the best I could with the braces is about the only other option. I'm squeamish about the surgery after having both a friend and my father-in-law who got it. Some days it is hard for me to enjoy playing guitar though.

3. DrumBob

DrumBob Gold Supporting Member