A Question for Guitar Players Who've Started in the Past Few Years

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by & You Don't Stop, Dec 7, 2017.

1. & You Don't Stop

& You Don't Stop Supporting Member

I'm interested to hear from players who are learning their instrument in this internet age, when the closest guitar lesson is just a mouse click away. What have you, as a beginner, found to be very valuable in really pushing your progress forward and helping to develop your style and technique?

A certain practice method? Do you follow a certain youtuber? Subscribe to an app or teaching program?

I'd love to hear about your journey.

2. & You Don't Stop

& You Don't Stop Supporting Member

Am I the only newb at tgp?

3. Jonathan31

Jonathan31 Member

Not a new player but even with all that is availiable on the internet I still am a big fan of finding a teacher in person. That is how I learned over a decade ago. Many people to fine being self taught but with a good teacher you will learn much much faster.

cmstrat likes this.
  4. QuarterTone

QuarterTone Member

JustinGuitar is great for a broad-based beginner overview. TrueFire is amazing for in-depth lessons on specific topics.

5. Eddie 70

Eddie 70 Member

I am a newbie player. Been trying to teach myself for about 4 years now. No telling how many bad habits I have learned on my own. I have used Justinguitar. Marty Schwartz, You Tube, etc. I know I should find someone to take lessons from. I don't think I have progressed as fast or as far as I could have taking lessons and doing what I am doing.

Jonathan31 and Dirty_Tones like this.
  6. Rezin

Rezin Member