A tiny fuzz face

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Scrutinizer, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Scrutinizer

Scrutinizer Member

I’ve always thought it would be fun to build a tiny fuzz circuit using surface mount (SMT) parts. Here’s my creation:

[​IMG]

The circuit is based on Jack Orman’s NPN Fuzz Face schematic. I used MMBT3904 transistors. The circuit was built on a piece of copper clad PCB material. I used an Exacto knife to create small ‘islands’ of copper on which the components are soldered.

[​IMG]

How does it sound? I'm not good at describing tone, but this fuzz is definitely usable. Plenty of spit and snarl is available, and cleans up nicely by rolling back the guitar's volume control. In other words, it does what a fuzz face is supposed to do.

I'm not sure yet if I will put this in a stompbox enclosure - I already have an great sounding FF on my board: a Throbak Fuzz Haze.

2. gururyan

gururyan Member

Pedal? You could put that in your guitar!

3. Medication

Medication Member

+1. very cool.

4. pickaguitar

pickaguitar 2011 TGP Silver Medalist Silver Supporting Member

Dude I think you're on to somethin here...

Maybe make it fit within a guitar...then while playing live you could flip a handy switch?

Jason

5. analogmike

analogmike Gold Supporting Member

make it fit inside the plug on the end of a patch cord :)

Nice job!!!!

6. nashvillesteve

nashvillesteve Member

Have it directly on the guitar's output jack, like some of the old booster pedals. Maybe have a bypass switch, definitely very cool. The Mighty Mite or something like that.

7. Big Bob

Big Bob Guest

I'm thinking an inlay at the 12 fret......:AOK Awesome!

Bob

8. Todd Lynch

Todd Lynch Member

Nice job; instead of a Fuzz Face, this is more like just a whisker or two.

9. jgyn

jgyn Member

Use a large pedal board and just put THAT on it!

10. gkelm

gkelm Supporting Member

11. Franklin

Franklin Member

12. 1968

1968 Member

13. drbob1