about slide guitar

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by tone4days, Jul 11, 2006.

1. tone4days

tone4days Member

i am a total slide guitar newbie ... the context for my learning to play a little slide is cover tunes for a dance rock band ...

my first question has to do with knowing how to determine if the slide part for a given tune was originally performed in standard tuning or an open tuning (and if so, which open tuning) ... what is the best way to figure that out?

example - Eagles tune 'heartache tonight' ... chords are simple loosely based around a I - IV - V in G ...

will be grateful for any pointers as i dive in

thanks
    t4d

2. ronin32

ronin32 Member

I've just started playing slide because of the "Intro to slide" article in the latest GuitarWorld Acoustic. You might want to check that one out.

3. g8tr90

g8tr90 Member

Most Eagles slide work is played by Walsh and he tends to play open E.

With that said I listen to slide parts for open string notes to help me figure it out. You have to figure that the tuning is usually either standard, open E, or open G most of the time.

There are exceptions, of course, but most of the time one of those three will get you there especially in rock.

Just to note an exception: I think Bonnie Raitt plays in open G but with a capo on the first fret making it open A flat.

Scott

4. bluesbreaker59

bluesbreaker59 Silver Supporting Member

Here are my pointers, as a slide god (ha, ha):

Tune up to Open E, with a humbucker equipped guitar, have this guitar setup with at LEAST 10's, and slightly raised action. Play with glass, its the most forgiving, and drop the pick, and DAMP with both hands dammit!!! Now, go buy an Elmore James CD, greatest hits would be great, almost all the songs are in A, D or E, practice to the recording. Most Open E slide playing licks are based off a hybrid major scale, and usually you're sliding about 2 frets in distance.