AC30 Quest - From Vox to Z to Bruno

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by cap217, May 5, 2016.

1. cap217

cap217 Member

I was always a rock or metal player then one night at 4am I woke up w the TV on in Las Vegas and John Mayer Where the Light Is was on and it was the scene where he is playing his L5 through a line 6 delay and into a Two Rock. This forever changed my style and I started learning the more jazz/blues side of John Mayer then opened the door to other styles. Then I discovered Brad Paisley and had to relearn all guitar techniques and picking and bending and scales and style. I never knew benders existed and remember being so intrigued by them after already playing guitar for 15 years. Anyways, the quest for the Paisley sound started and that would be an AC30.

I know that AC30s have a rock history but I am not looking at them as rock amps with gain. I am looking at them as more country/jazz amps with a unique cleaner sound. I have owned a lot of ac30 type amps over the years and just got a Bruno UG30 so I thought Id look back on what I have learned/thought of each amp.

In order:

-Vox ac30cch - This was my first ac30 amp and I didnt know about speakers yet so I rant this through my marshall 4x12 mostly. I got a 1x12 mesa cab for it too but that isnt a great setup. I did more of the rock thing with this because it ran though my Marshall and I didnt know how to play many country licks yet. Sounded good but I was using it the wrong way so I cant compare anything.

-Vox ac30cch Don Butler Modded - I got rid of my cch and found a don butler modded cch on TGP. I bought it thinking that this would be it and it would be amazing. It was just about the same as the other one. Less harsh and a little more push out of it but it was the same amp (same transformers).

Now I got into the country licks...