AC30 tone...what is the benchmark? Clips?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by SouthernShred, Mar 23, 2006.

1. SouthernShred

SouthernShred Member

So...I see a lot of threads around AC30's, Hayseed's, etc...does anyone have any clips or benchmark recordings that define great AC30 tone? I'm new to these particular amps and have no idea if I like them or not :) (it'd be nice to have a dealer nearby...)

2. tjs

tjs Senior Member

Brian May of Queen got what I consider to be the best AC30 lead tone. He also used a small solid state amp on studio recordings, however, so you're better off listening to a live record.

As for rhythm, Tom Petty, Peter Buck (of REM), and Roger McGuinn (the Byrds) are probably the most famous examples. Some people will tell you the Beatles, but they actually used a Fender Bassman on more recordings than the Vox (not to mention that several of their Vox amps were actually solid state and not the AC30).

3. Phil M

Phil M Supporting Member

To me, tones on records have other stuff going on--compression, EQ and who knows what else. The only way to tell is to play one, and at a volume where you can crank it. In other words, probably not at a store.

On popular records that I can think of, Tom Petty's rhythm guitar tones sound like that to me. A GREAT example is Ro Sham Bo by The Grays, but I'm guessing most people haven't heard of them.

4. Troy Baer

Troy Baer Member

Even then, Brian May uses AC30s in a rather unorthodox way... He has an oddball homemade guitar running through a booster pedal (dimed) into the Normal channel inputs of 3 AC30s (also dimed). He's not using the Brilliant/Top Boost or vibrato channels at all -- in fact, they've been physically removed from his AC30s!

5. tjs

tjs Senior Member

Quite true. In fact, I almost put a disclaimer in my post mentioning that I've never heard anyone else get that tone out of a stock AC30, but I figured somebody else would come along and prove me wrong.