Acoustic Guitar in a band. How?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by Tinman, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Tinman

Tinman Member

I just started a new band, and for the first time, I need to play an acoustic on several songs, maybe a whole set. I have no experience playing an acoustic in a band, and you should know that I'll be playing with another guitarist who will be playing regular old electric. I would like your suggestions as far as what kind of system to put on my acoustic. Sound-hole pickup? Piezo? I have a Seagull dreadnaught with no electronics. Do I need a different guitar? Do I need an acoustic amp? My role with the acoustic will be strictly rythym. Other than the two guitars, the band has drums and bass. We're doing Alt-Country, Rock-a-Billy, and some old country. I would appreciate any suggestions.

2. doc

doc Member

Depending on the amount you want to spend and the sound quality you need there are many options. Usually in a band setting with drums and electric however, you probably want to lean primarily on a magnetic pickup. You'll have trouble with being heard with most other type pickups unless your band is sympathetic. I'd check out a Baggs M1 first.

3. thesedaze

thesedaze Member

lr baggs m1 active is a good solution for the money. I prefer the sunrise, but they get a little costly once you get the preamp.

4. Realfi

Realfi trying to re-MEMBER Silver Supporting Member

The Baggs M1 is a great option.

The lead singer in our band uses two Gibsons. We've settled on a system where they both have M1 passives which we then run into a Baggs Para DI. It seems to work really well for our Alt-country/rock stuff.

The set-up:-

Guitars from M1 into Para DI

From the Para DI the balanced output goes to the FOH PA as the 'acoustic' sound.

We then take an instrument level output from the Para which goes to a Fender Super reverb reissue for a hybrid acoustic/electric rhythm sound which we mic and then send to another PA channel.