Acoustic Noob Asks, 'Do I Need A Better [i.e. More Expensive] Acoustic Guitar?'

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by ColorBlindJames, Nov 1, 2019.

1. ColorBlindJames

ColorBlindJames Silver Supporting Member

Ever since I started playing guitar, I've focused mostly on electric and I've gone through dozens of guitars and amps and hundreds of pedals. I've never really been that interested in acoustic guitars, though I have always had one, mainly just to noodle on while watching TV and the like.

A few years ago, I bought a Taylor 322, primarily because I had racked up a bunch of store credit with a local guitar shop. They are a Taylor dealer and the 322 was the size and cost that met my very basic requirements, so I ordered one. I've been perfectly happy with it since I got it and haven't really bothered to think about or look for a different acoustic guitar.

I recently bought a Collings I-35 LC, which is the first semi-hollow electric guitar I've ever owned and I've been kind of floored by just how articulate and responsive it is. I mostly play Teles and while I like my current one a lot, it does not have anything close to the nuance that the Collings has. Everything I do on the Collings is reflected in the tone that is produced and even the lightest picked notes have a clarity and presence about them that is unlike anything produced by any other electric guitar I've ever owned.

So now I am wondering if this is just a normal thing for 335-type semi-hollow guitars or if this is due to the high quality of Collings guitars in particular. And I am also wondering if a Collings or similarly high-end acoustic guitar will give me the same sort of responsiveness that I am getting from the I-35? I certainly cannot get that type of response from my Taylor and I find myself increasingly playing my I-35 when I am noodling before the TV because of it.