Adam Jones and Tool

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Ape Factory, Feb 8, 2012.

1. Ape Factory

Ape Factory Member

Had the opportunity to photograph Tool in concert two nights ago and despite the brevity on the photo side of things, it was pretty cool to see Adam work up on stage. Stage presence is definitely not Tool's forte as no one really moves around too much. Adam really works the pedals and that Virus synth. It's not really a large, complex setup but it seems to work for him and he does get some interesting sounds out of it. Played with the Gibson Les Paul silverburst the whole night.

I'm an editor now so they don't let me out of the office much. This is the first concert I've shot in some time and the first I've shot since picking up an electric guitar. So I had a bit more knowledge under my belt which made the experience more rewarding. Shot Rush a few years back, specifically Alex for a local story (he lives here), and I've always been a fan of his playing. But I didn't have the raw understanding of why he did what he did or used like I do now. Makes me want to shoot more concerts again.

Anyway, a few photos. I had ONE song to shoot and I don't think it was even the full length as on the original recording. The lights didn't get good until later on in the show either. Sort of funny, they consider themselves artists but oppress other artists. But whatever. That sort of stuff is why I got out of shooting the big musicians in the first place.

Due to licensing, I cannot post them here, you'll have to visit the gallery online. Tool is very strict about usage.

http://www.naplesnews.com/photos/ga...-concert-photos-sunrise-florida-maynard-adam/

Was a great show and they played very well. Just a little too short and they did not come back on for an encore (was supposed to be "The Pot") which was strange. But Maynard actually waved in his weird sort of way.

2. thornie

thornie Member