Adjusting action of guitar

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by Ides of March, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Ides of March

Ides of March Member

My action is kind of high especially at the 10 and 12th fret is too high actually. What is the best way to adjust the action on my Taylor, I know it's not the tension rod. Do I have to file down the saddle piece?

2. jpfeiff

jpfeiff Member

Get a professional setup from a qualified guitar tech for the best results. Yes, they might indeed adjust the truss rod, before resorting to sanding down the saddle.

3. JSeth

JSeth Member

Corvallis, Oregon... "Heart of the Valley"...
    don't mess with it if you don't know what you're doing... take it to a shop that sells Taylors (an authorized dealer if possible) and ask them what to do...

If you don't have that option, let a qualified luthier/repair person do it. Although I have been playing guitar for 50 years (good God! ) and can do some stuff myself, I have found that a solid relationship with a great gutar tech is INVALUABLE! Find someone you can trust, and learn from them when they do your instrument set-ups and repairs...
    Every one of the men who have worked on or built my guitars are trusted friends and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!

4. geetarman

geetarman Member

5. David Collins

David Collins Member

Only difference here is I would reverse that. The fact that a store sells guitars, should in NO way be taken as an endorsement they know anything at all about working on guitars. Quite the opposite is usually true, and "music store setups" often tend to be near the bottom of the barrel in my experience.

If you don't have a tech to go to, check around with your friends in the area. Sometimes music stores will have a decent tech, but don't take it as a given.

6. Structo

Structo Member

How old is the guitar?
    Is it still under warranty?

Is there a visible hump in the top behind the bridge?