Advice for music selection

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by jimmybcool, Aug 6, 2005.

1. jimmybcool

jimmybcool Supporting Member

OK, I'm not asking for what styles to learn and play. I know what I like.

But as a newbie I am having trouble putting together entire songs I can play. Or even extended riffs.

Look, lets be honest here. I woould like to achieve some level of ability so if I am in a guitar store and see something I want to try I can do something that sounds like music. Or if someone visits my condo and says hey - play something.

So far the only song I can play most of is Blackbird. Kewl enuf. I am working in SRV Pride and Joy but I don't see me getting that level of "flailing" down for a long time.

I keep trying songs, get a little into it and realize I must either be a master to play the song without a rythm and bass and such.

So, name some basic songs that work without backup and can be learned by the begginer to intermidiate player.

Thanks people.

2. spencerbk

spencerbk Member

3. StevenA

StevenA Member

Beginner: Sweet Melissa , Allman Bros.

Intermediate: Hesitation Blues, Jourma Kaukonen(sp)

4. jimmybcool

Spencer,

I am now getting out pad and paper. That is a good thread. I assumed before diving in that it was for a more advanced player. But not so. Thanks

Steven

Sweet Melisa - one of my all time favorite songs - is EASY. I actually have the tab for that and tmorrow I will give that a go. I LOVE the ABs.

Thanks guys.

Jim

5. jimmybcool

I don''t undertand. I have the tab for Sweet Melissa. And it is NOT right. I just spent an hour figuring out the chord shifts in this song. OK. no laughing. You were beginners once too. If I didn't know what it sounded like I would never have got it right.

The book it comes in is labeled Tab for Easy guitar.