Advice From Session Guitarists Needed

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Sadhaka, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Sadhaka

Sadhaka Member

Hey Guys/Gals,

Can anyone offer advice on how to get deeper into the session world?

I live in Sydney, Australia and would like to do more session work. I like the pressure and spontaneity of jamming and reading and making great music to a deadline, and the amount of learning that one gains in these situations.

I am a accomplished guitarist, holding a bachelors degree in performance from the Sydney Conservatorium and have won several competitions around Sydney on Classical guitar.

I play electric and steel string as well as classical and would consider myself very good at rock and blues especially. Of course, being a TGP'er I have a good collection of guitars etc.

I can read notation quite well.

So anyway. I know that session players can be a tight knit group. Did you send out resumes to all the studios around town or were you 'found'.

Cheers for any help or advice,
    Sadhaka.

2. chrisgraff

chrisgraff Member

go where the work is.

Learn popular music.

Become friendly with any session musician you can. Some might even let you tag along.

Offer your services for free.

3. henry_the_horse

henry_the_horse Member

A saying goes "You don't chose the industry, the industry choses you".

Get in touch with producers. Send them your demos. Most of the music industry engineers and excecutives, including some producers don't read music notation very well, or at all. Record demos playing in different styles, or gather some session work you have done before (the quality of the recording is not as important as the quality of the performance), send them the demos with your card or resume (professional resume with some quick mention to your academic degree and a lot of info on your previous session work). Don't wait them to call back. Inquire and ask for a meeting.