After 1.5 years, I suddenly hate my Blues Jr.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Mangy71, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Mangy71

Mangy71 Member

I started playing in church about a year and a half ago, so I picked up a Blues Jr and started building a pedalboard. I run the amp totally clean and get all my dirt from pedals. I have been through tons of OD pedals and a bunch of other pedals trying to get the best setup to work with my amp.

I have replaced the speaker with a Cannabis Rex & re-tubed it, but haven't done any mods.

I have always had to run the tone controls on my od pedals below noon to keep the highs under control, and I have managed to get some pretty good lower volume tones with my setup when mic'ed up for church. I still think this sounds pretty good:

Lately I have started thinking - "I have guitars that I like and a really nice pedalboard, but maybe the Blues Jr is holding me back from really getting the sound I want?" There is always a certain harshness, even with the treble dialed back, and it just doesn't sound as full as I would like.

I don't have a ton of money for an upgrade, and I don't want something too big or heavy. I have been thinking about trying an Egnater Tweaker or Egnater Rebel 30 combo. Not sure if those would be much of an upgrade, or if I would still be wishing for something better in a few months.....

Thoughts?

2. tennisplayer

tennisplayer Senior Member

I hated mine after just 15 minutes. Yours actually didn't sound to bad. So many better amps out there than a Blues Jr. I didn't like the Egnaters much either. How about a Vox AC 15, Bogner Shivas are smooth with tons of gain on tap.

3. Mangy71

Mangy71 Member

Not really fair to compare a Bogner Shiva ($2000 plus amp) with a Blues Jr. is it? :huh

I don't need a gain channel - just a nice clean amp to run pedals that sounds better, isn't more than $600-800, and doesn't weigh a ton.

4. modernp

modernp Member