After 2 pots in 1 year, done with Goodrich volume pedals

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Marcusd, Jan 27, 2012.

1. Marcusd

Marcusd Member

Anyone else have a terrible experience with this pedal?
    I'm a guitarist so it didn't even get that much use, and 2 pots became scratchy within a year
    Unacceptable.

2. johnfindlay

johnfindlay Member

Sorry to hear its been troublesome.I was just considering a Goodrich.

I have a 90s stereo Dunlop pedal-Or Ernie Ball?? I never used it with electric-it seemed to kill the feel of guitar to amp...

Ive always been a bit suspicios of vol/ pedals...but Im looking again!

JF

3. Less=more

Less=more Member

I heard of other problems with the goodrich. this caused me to pay the price and get the Thru-tone modded EB volume.

4. johnfindlay

johnfindlay Member

5. cwcashiniv

cwcashiniv Member

I had a Goodrich volume pedal. A nicer model - it took 4 months of regular use to develop a scratchy pot... Sold it and picked up an Ernie Ball VP Jr. for $45 used.

I sent it to T1M for modding - installed split buffer to take the tuner out of my chain and maintain signal, and it sounds incredible! All for less than $100.

I highly recommend that route. Goodrich has too many horror stories to believe the success stories, IMO.

6. CodeMonk

CodeMonk Member

IMO, all Expression, Volume, Wah, and such should ALL have sealed pots.
    I bought a Rocktron Hex whateverthehelltherestofthenameis Expression/Volume pedal.
    Didn't have a sealed pot. Had the same kind of pot you would have in a guitar.

The pot was toast in less than a week (I live on a horse ranch/boarding stables and its very dusty here).

Got myself a Visual Sound Volume pedal and haven't had that problem.
    The taper on the pot (which IS sealed) took a little practice to get the swell thing going to my liking though.

7. Tbone135

Tbone135 Member

I've had a Goodrich for years with no problems.

8. chops612

chops612 Member