Alnico ll's vs Alnico 5's

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Ken, Jul 13, 2008.

1. Ken

Ken Member

What the the tonal differences between these two magnets?

I'm a pickup newbie and I'm getting some WCR pickups, the Darkburst/Godwood set and I also ordered the Alinco II per Jim's suggestion to compare both.

Now how do you change the magnets in a pickup? Remeber I'm a pickup newbie so forgive me for asking a basic question.

Thanks

2. paintguy

paintguy Long Hair Hippy Freak Silver Supporting Member

To me, the Alnico II's are warmer and a little smoother. The 5's are brighter and maybe a tad clearer.

I pretty much always prefer the II's, but it's all personal.

3. starjag

starjag Member

+1

Alnico 2 tends to be matched with low outputs pickups, maybe less than 9k. Alnico 5 is quite flexible and is matched with pickups of higher output. Hot pickups, maybe 15k, are better matched with higher Alnico magnets, like Alnico 8.

4. TheGuildedAge

TheGuildedAge Member

I have Vs in my P90s, I was told they are a nice medium between the warmth of II's and the punch of ceramic.

5. Fourth Feline

Fourth Feline Member

The Alnico II will be sweetest sounding in the upper registers, but the bass may be a bit 'saggy' and less defined. Alnico IV or v tightens the bass up - and hardens / brightens the top end a bit.

I had a set of Alnico II 'Stormy Monday' pickups from Bare Knuckle Pickups here in the U.K. - and the bass was not as articulate as I would have liked in Mahoghany guitars. I asked them to install me an Alnico IV magnet instead - and the result was great, a slight loss of sweetness on the top three strings, but nice clear bass.

If in doubt as to magnet attributes, look on the 'Bare Knuckle Pickups' site, and under the 'pickups' section, look for the sticky on magnet types/ characteristics. ;)

6. shally

shally Member

agree..

depends upon the application as well.. V's are (by rep) better to cut through the mix and be heard...

7. elgalad