Altec Lansing speakers anyone?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by rhoads157, Oct 12, 2005.

1. rhoads157

rhoads157 Member

Hello to all! Kind of a newbie here although I am usually on the PRS side.
    I bought an old Gibson G50 (?) amp at a garage sale recently that has an Altec Lansing model 417-8C dia cone speaker in it that is really in great shape. I jumped on the amp because of the speaker and the $5 price tag.
    I know that Altec makes good speakers and my idol Randy Rhoads used them in his Marshall cabs.
    I can not find any stats on this speaker other than it is an 8ohm and 12".
    Can someone please give me a history lesson on these and what it would be good for?
    I am thinking about building a cab for it but I am not sure what the wattage is and if it would be good for hard rock or metal.

Thanks in advance for your input.

David

2. Reeek

Reeek Member

I have a fully functional Altec-Lansing 600-B Dia-Cone 12" 8 Ohm speaker right heresitting next to me.

Here are some nice pages:

http://www.lansingheritage.org/

The 417-8C appears to be one of their top-o-the-line speakers. My 600-B is a lower cost speaker but is only seen in the 1949 catalog! Hmmm :) Nice snag!

This was about as much as I could find myself and the 417-8C is featured in this catalog scan:

http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/altec/catalogs/1972-mi/page04.jpg

417-8C - Later iteration:

http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/altec/catalogs/1975-mi/page04.jpg

Here's the webpage itself:

http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/altec/catalogs/altec-cat.htm

They are great speakers ;)

Check out the prices back in 1967! $96 for a D120F and $120 for a D130F! Holy Moly!

http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/jbl/catalogs/1967/mi-drivers.jpg

3. Reeek

Reeek Member