Alternate picking for blues

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by hhawkins, Jan 27, 2015.

1. hhawkins

hhawkins Member

I have been playing guitar for about 13 years now and felt that I picked it up quite fast as I already had been playing piano since aged 7.

I started off playing Led Zeppelin songs which were great and I had a lot of fun playing those. As the years went on however, my playing style evolved into more of a blues style and I began playing more in the style of Robben Ford, Larry Carlton, Robert Cray and a lot of the other blues greats.

I can alternate between major and minor keys effectively and feel I can play over most chord changes quite well.

Anyway, I'm getting to the stage now were I want to play faster. I don't mean I want to shred, I just mean that I want to be able to execute fast lines effectively over say a standard blues progression like Joe Bonamassa or Eric Johnson.

I alternate picking naturally anyway, but when I try to go really fast it's like my hands just won't let me. It's nearly like I can't get them in sync with each other. I have also been trying to develop some good legato technique too for the same reasons I want to develop my alternate picking. I would consider myself relatively experienced overall as a musician but just need to try and improve certain areas involving speed. I know speed isn't everything, but its a handy thing to have under the belt when you feel like expressing yourself in that way.

Has anyone else faced these challenges? Can anyone chip in and offer advice?

Thanks.

2. JonR

JonR Member

Some advice I gave on another thread recently (given to me by a bass tutor a while back):

Try practising scales (or licks) with your fret hand only, ie, using hammer-ons and pull-offs only - and do it to a metronome.
    Doesn't really matter if some notes are inaudible; the point is to practice getting your fret hand in time.