Am I the only one that hates Spring Reverb?

nmiller

Drowning in lap steels
I hate splashy reverb. A lot of people think that all spring reverb is splashy because so many amp & pedal companies copy the Fender reverb sound, but it doesn't have to be. I've had a number of amps with very smooth spring reverb. I even have a rack-mounted spring reverb which sounds almost like plate.

Gibsonchild

Gumpy Old Man
Silver Supporting Member
Nope, I don’t care for it either. My base tone has always been as dry as a popcorn fart.

But to be fair, my background is heavy palm muted Chugga Chugga stuff. And my main amp for all these years (Mesa DC3), as much as I love it, has the worst freaking reverb I’ve ever heard on an amp.

It’s taken me 20 years to get to the point that I can stomach any reverb as part of a guitar sound. Even then, I prefer a smoother digital reverb, and only if absolutely needed for a particular part.

Naigewron

Not a fan of spring reverb here either. I get why it exists, because it was an accessible and portable way to create ambience before digital reverb, but I don't like it at all. I feel the same about slapback echo too. I get why it exists, but I don't like it.

My brain is still trying to wrap itself around those words :p
It's not complicated: A good digital reverb will sound a lot more like a room/hall than a spring does.

raylinds

I play a lot of surf guitar, so I love it. But I prefer plate 'verb for most of the high gain stuff I play. I do think that spring is great for a more vintage sound, but can be a little dated for more a modern sound.

There is no right or wrong when it comes to personal preferences.

Tone_Terrific

Silver Supporting Member
There is no right or wrong when it comes to personal preferences.
Use one, the other or both.
Personal preference and suitability for the application allow a wide range.
YMMV. OP will find that applies to a lot of stuff some folks both revere and detest.