AM Strat Dlx - tremolo springs and setup opinion

a1briz

Platinum Supporting Member
Doing a setup of my Strat Deluxe.

I don't use the tremolo arm much, just occasionally. I'm thinking I should sit the bridge plate flush against the body right? No need to have it float and increase chances of tuning issues right?

Also, is it possible to get the bridge plate flush against the body with using just 2 springs? Or do I need 3 or 4 springs. I'm no expert at setups and it seems to get the bridge plate flush back, I need to use at least 3 springs and screw the claw way back into the guitar.

Also, I have the 2 bridge screws screwed down as far as they can go. Seems like if I raise the screws, the bridge plate starts to float. Are they fine like this or do I need to raise them a bit?

Told myself its about time I got better at doing this..!

gulliver

Silver Supporting Member
IIRC, those sit above the body, unlike the vintage style, so I'm thinking it might not be a good fit for a flush setting ... I'm thinking it will be better to block it within the body.

Any setup experts here?

candid_x

I've been in a learning process as well. I'd always used 4-5 springs and did everything but nail the bridge flush to the body. I don't like other strings going flat when I bend strings, mainly. But I've discovered that my Strats' tone warms significantly and sounds more natural when the back of the bridge floats about 1/8" off the body, and backing off those two retaining screws to allow some free movement. But though it does sound far better this way than when I had the bridge decked flat (big surprise to me!), it does lose that hard-tail kind of stability.

I don't think you'll manage to flatten the bridge to the body with just 2 or 3 springs, even if you crank in the claw, nor do I understand why not just use a full 5, if that's how you want it.

From another set up novice.

candid_x