1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Amazingly incredibly STUPID newbie question

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by jimmybcool, Dec 18, 2005.

1. jimmybcool

jimmybcool Supporting Member

OK. So I've been playing now for about 5 months. I prefer fingerpicking but I also want to do some harder rock and need to learn flatpicking.

So why is it so damn hard to hold the pick right?

I mean really, is there a diagram or picture showing proper technique to hold the pick so it doesn't extend so far it is uncontrollable, but far enough you don't drag your other fingers on the strings? And what IS the correct angle of attack on the strings?

I feel I will never become any good at this if I don't develop proper mechanics.

This is a serious amazingly incredibly STUPID newbie question and I really am having problems. I have an instructor and he constantly corrects my right hand technique but just maybe a picture would paint a 1000 corrections :)

2. UnderTheGroove

UnderTheGroove Supporting Member

Hopefully someone will have a picture they can post to help you. In the meantime, I would ask your instructor to show you how to hold the pick and right hand technique again. A picture is worth a 1000 words, but having someone knowledgable show you in person is priceless. It is going to take some practice to get used to it, but when you are doing it correctly it should feel comfortable.

3. Serious Poo

Serious Poo Armchair Rocket Scientist Graffiti Existentialist Gold Supporting Member

First off, that isn't a stupid question at all. There are probably a million different ways to hold a pick, and none of them are wrong. Allan Holdsworth, Eddie Van Halen, Rik Emmett, and Eric Johnson all hold the pick WAY differently, yet they all seem to manage OK.

:AOK