Amp Advice?

cjac9chris

Hey TGP!
I'm a professional producer & bassist, as well as, a decent acoustic guitarist. After years of paying other guys to play electric guitar on my productions, I've decided I need to get to the point where I can play my own parts for when the budget is tiny and/or my favorite players are booked.

I'm hoping you guys could recommend me one guitar and one amp to get me started. I'm a fan of vintage stuff in general but not closed minded about new stuff.

Here are some of my favorite players/albums (in no particular order). I'm fully aware that one rig will not fit all. Collection will obviously expand in future!

-Bill Frisell (Disfarmer, Joe Henry's Civilians)
-T Bone Burnett (Raising Sand)
-Buddy Miller (Band of Joy, Midnight & Lonesome)
-Daniel Lanois (Emmylou Harris' Wrecking Ball)
-Greg Leisz (Joe Henry's Civilians)
-Marc Ribot (Marc Ribot y Los Cubano Postizos)
-Doug Pettibone (Lucinda Williams's World Without Tears)

Thanks so much for your time and suggestions!

Chris

A-Mags

Silver Supporting Member
This is probably not the advice you where looking for, but in your shoes and for recording purposes I'd look into the BIAS app if you have an Ipad. Really impressive. For a guitar, the Strat is the most versatile electric especially an SSH.
From what I'm hearing from your preferences though a Tele or Country Gentleman type guitar would sound killer.

Apologies...

bpdeem

Super clean fendery two rock srv/Mayer sound :Morgan SW (22 watt is plenty if it's just studio) I LOVE mine!
Dirty British edge of break up or awesome overdrive: Jackson Ampworks NewCastle 30. Volume, tone, power. No muss. No fuss. The Britain 30 and 4.0 have a lot of cool options (4 power modes, 2 sets of tubes, killer boost/tone bypass and fx loops) if tweakable feel is something you're really looking for.

I'm not really a connoisseur of the vintage stuff, sorry...