Amp building question, Power Transformer related.

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by trey85stang, Feb 12, 2008.

1. trey85stang

trey85stang Member

I have a power transformer that is rated at 350-0-350. But I have a problem... When I power this thing up my two 350 taps are actually putting out 430v's... Is this transfomer bad or do I have something wired incorrectly?

PT in question is a hammond 273bx.

I have a few other question as well about this build I am doing... but I need to sort this out before moving along :)

2. trey85stang

trey85stang Member

Actually, on another forum I think the problem was identified. My CT is not grounded.

Im putting the probe directly on the tap from the PT, pre rectifier (AC measurement). The rectifier i believe is full wave. There are two rectifers inline after each tap and then they are connected. Im an amp building newb so Im not 100% sure, my first build actually :)

Here is the circuit in question though:

[​IMG]

3. phsyconoodler

phsyconoodler Member

Ok,I see only one full wave rectifier with centre tap.You have four diodes that make up the rectifier.
    This is the way it works:350v on each tap gets rectified and you measure the DC voltage after the rectifier.The basic formula is Voltage x 1.4(diodes) = rectified DC voltage.So 350 x 1.4= 490v dc.
    I am assuming you are measuring with tubes in,in that case it will be lower because the tubes draw current and suck the DC voltage down a bit.That is normal.
    It would help if you told us what amp you are building so we can help you further.You need to get the basics down before continuing.

What is R67-varies,in the upper left hand corner?

4. trey85stang

trey85stang Member