Amp for Jazz

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Rufes, Feb 6, 2012.

1. Rufes

Rufes Member

I have been playing blues, rock, and fusion for the last 20+ years and I have got a lot of tube amps. (SFDR, SFSR, JTM45/100, Tweed Deluxe, Superbass, 2061X ....)

As I become older, I am more interested in jazz (a lot now) so I bought a great sounding ES175 armed with flats and I am preparing a good number of standards and songs to play with a jazz band.

I would like to buy a new amp for this project. I love the sound of the DR but as the volume increases it becomes dirtier and I need it to keep it fat and clean (the opposite of what I have been looking for all these years....)

I want it VERY light and portable so this is what I have found:

- Polytone mini brute (maybe too dark sounding...)
    - Henriksen jazzamp 10-R
    - Acoustic image
    - AER

The problem is that I cannot try them first....

Any suggestions?

I have read also that the cube80 is a very nice jazz amp. It is just that I cannot believe it for such a low price..... Am I wrong? Am I being a snob?

2. ballynally

ballynally Member