Amp not turning on, HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by my_shadow22, Feb 10, 2003.

1. my_shadow22

my_shadow22 Member

I have this old tube PA head made that I'm use as a guitar amp. Well I bought a Celestion Blue recently and using the head with it is awesome. One of the best sounding od's I've ever heard. Well anyways, yesterday I turned it on to let it warm up. Came back in 15 mins and it was off. I tried the switch a few times and finally it turned on and was fine. Later on that night I unplugged it to take to a jam and went to turn it on an nothing. I shook it a few times tried it again, it turns on. While I'm playing it shuts off and now it won't turn on at all. I opened it up and saw that the ground was not connected to the input jack. I resoldered it and still won't turn on. Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong?

I'm a beginner when it comes to working on amps but I am starting to learn. I would really like to try to fix this myself but I have no troubleshooting skills. I just got a multimeter and was wondering if I could use that to see if any the parts are bad?

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

2. PaulC

PaulC Member

Does it not light up (tube heatres and pilot light) when you turn it on? If so I'd look at the ac mains/fuse/pwr switch first. The switch could be going bad, or there could be a cold solder connection somewhere in that area. Fuse holders can make loose connections to the fuse also. If you are getting the heaters to light up then it's going to be a problem after the pwr tranny. If it was the pwr tranny you'd be popping a bunch of fuses. But just BE SURE TO UNPLUG! PaulC

3. my_shadow22

my_shadow22 Member

Thanks for the reply Paul, the amp doesn't turn on at all. I'm going to solder in a new switch and see if that works. Thanks again!

4. Chambers

Chambers Guest

hey my_shadow, you like tool?

5. my_shadow22

my_shadow22 Member

Chambers: