Amp tipped over in truck: no reverb!

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by achtung, Jun 27, 2006.

1. achtung

achtung Member

Hi all,
    My name is Chris. I'm a newbie and my amp don't work...
    Actually it's the reverb that is out. It tipped over in the truck on the way to a gig and that was enough to do it. My tech thought it would be the tank but I ran a small marshall thru the tank and it sounds great. What would be the next thing to look at? It's a vox ac15 (korg re-issue), tube driven. I have the schematics but don't really know how to read them (yet). any help would be appreciated.

Chris

2. brad347

brad347 Member

try swapping the reverb tube. Then check the solder joints on the reverb input and output jacks (if any)

3. Swarty

Swarty Member

90% chance that one of the connections to the jacks on the inside of the tank broke.

4. mbratch

mbratch Member

I agree. The wires inside the tank are generally fine guage and break easily with severe shock. Take the tank out and look at it closely.

5. Dave Orban

Dave Orban Gold Supporting Member

That would be the first place I'd look, too.

6. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member

I think I'll design a device that will park the reverb springs during transit. I'll then patent it and sell to Accutronics and retire early. I'll then write my memoirs and pontificate about how hard I worked to get where I am today. :)

7. brad347

brad347 Member

but guys, he said another amp plugged into teh reverb tank worked fine.

8. achtung

achtung Member