Ampilifer on a rug.

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Randell scott, Apr 7, 2015.

1. Randell scott

Randell scott Member

Hello. I got a Johnson JT-50 JT-100 Mirage 80 pounds ampilifer. Can I use it on a rug? And can I get shocked from it If I do? Dose it make a difference in tone Thanks.

2. RLD

RLD Member

3. randombastage

randombastage Member

If you are barefoot, the rug is wet and you stick your finger through a hole in the chassis and touch the heater wire while the amp is on...then definitely. Otherwise I don't think so.

4. Randell scott

Randell scott Member

Thanks for the reply. I have never used a ampilfer on a rug before. Thanks.

5. Greatdane

Greatdane Member

Guess not unless you include a filled bathtub

[​IMG]

6. partytrain

partytrain Member

The amplifier on the rug really ties the room together.

7. aleclee

aleclee TGP Tech Wrangler Staff Member

While I too found myself scratching my head at the OP, a little reflection helped me recall the issues I had using a L6 AX2 on the concrete floor of my basement. When the Cat 5 pedalboard cable was on the floor, the gremlins went wild. When the cable was suspended off the floor or on a different surface, it worked great.

8. colonoscopotamus

colonoscopotamus Member

So, out of curiosity, what do you normally put your amp on, such that a rug is so different you worry about the amp not working or shocking you?

9. Randell scott

Randell scott Member

A hard wood floor. And Since it was my first big real expensive ampilifer I did not know the answer to the question. I never had such a real nice ampilfer that size. And never had a rug in my room I play in untill today. So I thought it can not hurt to ask about somthing I did not know anything about?

10. Greatdane

Greatdane Member

Congrats on the amp. Hope you rock on and keep asking as we all do if there´s something we don´t know :)

11. Randell scott

Randell scott Member