Amplifire Power Supply (wall wart) Things to be aware of

MJ Slaughter

Silver Supporting Member
I am not an electronics engineer or even very knowledgeable but I've been forced to learn a couple of things I never knew about power supplies. In particular, power supplies for the Amplifire. The Amplifire PS is a switching PS vs linear and the positive is the center tip, inside the barrel where most of the PS I've used have the positive on the outside of the barrel and seem to be linear. So far all switching PS I've looked at have the positive center. Maybe someone could confirm whether or not this is always the case.

My desire was to daisy chain 9 volt DC power between my midi controller, tuner, Amplifire and another device if I decided to put something in the Amplifire's FX loop later. Since the Amplifire's PS has a positive center I used an adapter to switch the polarity. This setup worked but caused noise around 258-260 Hz and the only thing I can do to fix it is to keep the Amplifire on it's own power supply. Oddly enough, with either just the controller and Amplifire or tuner and Amplifire sharing a PS the noise wasn't a problem. Go figure.

If anyone is successfully powering their Amplifire on a daisy chain with other 9 volt DC devices and not having noise issues please let me know what you're using.

mac jones

The manual states that it's either positive OR negative tip (internal switching I guess )

Manual:

"9 or 12 volt power supply (DC or AC, either polarity), 1A minimum . Accepts a standard 2.1mm coaxial plug (either polarity) ."

Also, I daisied with a Zoom (which is a digital noise maker) without any noise at all.

Last edited:

JoeB63

Silver Supporting Member
Ya -- I tried the Amplifire using a One-Spot with some other effects in the chain, and it worked fine. I did not change polarity. As Mac Jones said above, either polarity works.

GuitaRasmus