• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

An art form I don't really appreciate

SigXer

I find this strange. I am a musician, so I create sounds that might inspire people to dance, but I don't have much respect for dancing as an art form. I understand that it can take a lot of talent and practice to become good at, but it just doesn't do anything for me and I don't really understand it (not to mention that I suck at it). Any of you in the same boat?

Celticdave

Seeker
Platinum Supporting Member
I've always personally felt that there was art in dancing. The connection between music and the body is what fuels the fire brother.

Jon Silberman

10Q Jerry & Dickey
Silver Supporting Member
I understand that it can take a lot of talent and practice to become good at, but it just doesn't do anything for me and I don't really understand it (not to mention that I suck at it).
None of this, to me, is a valid reason to neither appreciate nor respect an art form.

For example, I can respect and appreciate curling as a sport despite my feeling essentially the same about it as you do about dance.

rwe333

Silver Supporting Member
I don't really understand it
...maybe your answer's in your post...
You've invested time in understanding music - perhaps invest more into understanding movement/dance - ?

Ignorance is bliss? (musing aloud... not judging... YMMV, etc...)

rhinocaster

Gold Supporting Member