Analog to Digital Recording Question

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by AshlandBump, Apr 26, 2005.

1. AshlandBump

AshlandBump Silver Supporting Member

The country I come from is called the Midwest.
    Our band was given a Tascam 24 track/8 bus sound mixer (M-3500). It's way more than we need and, obviously, entirely analog. We're thinking about selling it but I'd like to see if there's a way we could adopt it to our use. We had been thinking about getting a Presonus Firepod to record directly to a computer. Is there some fire wire interace we could run between the Tascam and the computer that would keep the tracks (probably no more than 8 at a time) separate?

I'm just starting out with computer recording so I hope my question makes sense. Thanks.

2. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

The m3500 & firepod will track 8 channels with no additional hardware.

With that mixer, I'd look at something like the MOTU 24io, so can can track and monitor up to 24 channels.

I wouldn't toss that mixer aside just because it's analog. It can the centerpiece of your studio. It gives you additional preamps for tracking drums, EQ and plenty of routing for outboard effects. And many people still use an analog board as a summing mixer, if for nothing else.

3. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

splatt recommended one brand that he said has the best customer support and drivers... I'm forgetting which. It was not PreSonus (terrible QC, by the way - if it works at all count yourself among the lucky few) or M-audio.

If I remember I'll post it later...

4. AshlandBump

AshlandBump Silver Supporting Member

The country I come from is called the Midwest.
    We're not thinking about getting rid of this because it's analog -- that's fine with me -- we just need a way of using its 24 seperate tracks with computer software. If that solution isn't cost effective, we'll sell it and buy something like the Mackie Onyx mixer (analog with fire wire output).