Analogman King of Tone or Xotic BB MB

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by td2243, Jan 26, 2012.

1. td2243

td2243 Member

Hey guys,

I'm really not an expert at overdrive pedals at all, so I'm coming to TGP for help. I'd like an OD pedal and I've narrowed it down to the KOT and the BB MB preamp.

The obvious difference is 2 channel (KOT) vs 1 channel (BBMB), and that is a big selling point. Can anyone chime in on how these are sonically different? Can the KOT cover the tones of the BBMB, or vice versa? Can one do a certain type of tones that the other can't? Thanks.

For the Empire,
    TD-2243

2. td2243

td2243 Member

3. Eliguitar

Eliguitar Member

I have both. They can certainly be setup to sound very similar, The first time I had them both on the board, I was toggling between them at soundcheck while a guitarist friend was sitting 15 feet away and he couldnt hear the difference at all. The feel of the pedals are a little different but the sound, especially live is not too far apart.
    It comes down to what you need, the KOT has 2 channels that can be used separately or combined and the BB-MB is a smaller pedal with a 3 band eq.
    Both are great and very well made.

4. redbeardrob

redbeardrob Member

KOT all the way. it's not even really a choice in my head. a bit pricey unless you want to wait a few years on the list. every dollar is well spent. plus there's a ton of great famous guitarists that use it. KWS, the black crowes guy, i just read in the new guitarplayer magazine that john petrucci uses one. i've never heard of anyone outside TGP use a Xotic BB MB.

that's my opinion.

5. td2243

td2243 Member

Thanks. I'll try to get on the list and give it a good listening when I eventually get it. Maybe I'll get a bbmb in the meantime. :)

6. mc2

mc2 Member