1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

And just like that, my AX8 is gone.

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by skinvoyager, Apr 19, 2019.

1. skinvoyager

skinvoyager Supporting Member

I've been gigging with my trusty AX8 heavily for more than two years (ever since they came out) and I truly love it. But recently I've been on a quest to return to some analog gear...not so much to replace modeling, but I just miss the feel of real amps. I have a nice Carol-Ann, but that stays at home.

The Origin Effects Revival Drive caught my ear. The demos sounded exactly like my sound: old-school, raw, very alive. I'm one of those guys who literally uses one patch on the AX8 all night...an X/Y amp block and a handful of basic effects. So I figured the Revival Drive would be perfect for building a small board.

When I got it, I first tried it in the loop of the AX8 using the Fractal's cab block. Damn, it sounded good. It got me thinking...the HX Effects has IR loading...it would be the perfect pairing for the Revival Drive.

I bought the HX Effects and loaded my favorite IRs (I have a LOT). For some reason, I couldn't get it to sound as good as using the Revival Drive with the stock cabs on the AX8. Believe me, I tried.

Next I thought I would return the HX Effects and go back to a bunch of individual effect pedals (delay, modulation, etc.) and get a stand-alone IR loader or cab sim. I tried many, many options. I won't mention the pedals, but I kept thinking that the HX Effects sounded just as good as these expensive pedals for the time-based effects. Really. So I decided not to return the HX Effects.

Then, while researching cab sims, I saw the new Torpedo CAB M. I thought, holy crap, this is exactly what I need! Two days later, I had the following rig: