And then I messed up the song....

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by mfranzdorf, Oct 13, 2019.

1. mfranzdorf

mfranzdorf Member

Played a show this afternoon, a high school “Alternative Strings” class that plays a few songs before the orchestra concerts. I’m a school resource officer at the school and occasionally joins the kids on one song at their concert. Layla was the song, and I had been practicing a bit and was comfortable with it. BUT, I lost track of the verses and when we were supposed to continue on with the main riff repeating, I went back into another verse..... I of course realized immediately and picked it back up after a measure and we finished strong. Me being me though, it is really bugging me. I honestly feel like I let the kids down by jacking up the song.
    I know live music can be tricky waters, and I’m far from seasoned at it but that doesn’t lessen the embarrassment level any.

I realize this is a dumb thing to beat myself up over but....I know, rock and roll, right?

Matteo11 and WordMan like this.
  2. MkIIC+

MkIIC+ Silver Supporting Member Supporting Member

Yes. Rock & Roll.

B Money, Matteo11 and mfranzdorf like this.
  3. PFunk

PFunk Member

No one’s going to wake up at 2:00 am thinking- “ya’ know, that guitar player went back into the verse there”...

Average Joe and mfranzdorf like this.
  4. OM Flyer

OM Flyer Member

Recovering from an error is a skill unto itself. You unintentionally demonstrated something valuable to those kids. That’s part and parcel of your job as an SRO, right? Give yourself a pat on the back.

Matteo11, LeftyGtrPlr, SteveK and 8 others like this.
  5. mfranzdorf

mfranzdorf Member

Cool perspective there. Thanks!

stevenymets and OM Flyer like this.
  6. Flying_Milkman

Flying_Milkman Silver Supporting Member

Without attempting to be dismissive -