Another "What amp is for me?" Topic.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by DJLantz444, Jun 7, 2006.

1. DJLantz444

DJLantz444 Senior Member

Hi, I'm a young guitarist (younger than most here) that plays primarily blues, jazz, and some rock type stuff (Crunchy Chords). I have some overdrives that I use with my current amp (Peavey Classic 30) to give me a variety of tones that I like, but the clean tones are never quite there. As of now I have two guitars, my Fender Strat and an Ibanez AF105 (The archtop).

I'm definitely looking for an amp with a Fenderish type vibe. I like the modern blues stuff, such as SRV and an amp with a nice crisp high end like a Fender is what I'm looking for. I want an amp that will be primarily clean that can maybe get me that "edge of breakup" tone. My amp should do the rest. However, it shouldn't have a complete lack of headroom, as I need to play some jazz without feedbacking. I like a small amount of grit when I play jazz, to warm things up, but I can't have it overdriven, especially if I'm playing a ballad or something.

Only one channel is necessary as I'll have my clean tone (varying amount of "clean" depending on what I'm playing) and then use my overdrives to kick it hard.

The amp shouldn't be too big. I'm only playing club gigs, and even that is rare. I don't forsee myself playing stadiums anytime soon, if ever.

Sadly cost will be an issue, though I have a birthday coming up, I may be able to split 50/50 with my parents. I can't give you a limit but I can tell you no matchless, diaz, victoria, etc. Just too much.

Amps I've been looking at:
    Vibrolux
    Deluxe Reverb (worried about headroom)

Anything else I should be looking into? There isn't much of a place to try out amps anywhere around here (besides horrible solid state practice amps) but my dad said he'd try to take me somewhere this summer.

2. googoobaby

googoobaby Member

Rivera? Plenty of headroom in a Chubster 40.

3. Keld

Keld Member