Any experience with both a Mini-POG and an Octron?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by mentalfloss, Jul 29, 2008.

1. mentalfloss

mentalfloss Member

From the clips I've listened to these sound pretty different, but I have no direct experience with them. I'm considering small-footprint octave pedals for a downsized pedalboard I'm planning. Have any of you owned/tried these? Any other recommendations? I have a CC2 in my large-ish board so I'm not entirely without octave experience, but I'm not necessarily looking to duplicate the CC2's Octafuzz. Thanks!

2. Birddog

Birddog Member

I've had the Micro-POG on board for a few months now, and it goes to every gig. For me, it's one of the only 'special' effects that I really like. Used in conjunction with the wah, you can get some upper octave 'bloom' that sounds very natural for stuff like Santana's "Smooth". Used with a touch of upper and lower octave and, again, with the wah it gives a very Hendrix-y sound that I use on Watchtower. Aside from that, it is of course known for its organ sounds, which it pulls off beautifully. I've also used it for recording bass lines, and you'd be hard-pressed to know it wasn't a real bass guitar. It's very versatile, and very quiet. One of my favorites.

Here's a song I recorded that uses the Micro-POG for bass lines and for a couple of off-set leads with higher octaves mixed in. The 'b' part of the song uses the POG extensively for the melody.

Silent Friends.mp3

3. mentalfloss

mentalfloss Member

Oops, so it's "Micro" and not "Mini" POG. Sorry. So the Micro-POG can do organ sounds? I thought that was a feature of the Maxi/Macro-POG. To me, that's a big selling point. What about reliability/durability?

4. Birddog

Birddog Member

Yes, a very convincing organ tone. With a little tremelo added, very B3 ish. Very good even without the trem, though. There are some good Youtube.com demos that focus on the organ tones.