Any Expert Studies On This?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by yZe, Feb 3, 2008.

1. yZe

yZe Senior Member

Tampa, on the Territory of Florida (D.C. Free Zone
    Okay I have been practicing many possible lines which follow many different chord substitutions of a particular standard in as many different fingerings, octave registers, as possible

I have been doing this for over 6 months with the met at medium to really burning tempos

The problem is that when I go to play over the backing track, very few of those lines come out in comparison to the many that i practice

I am most definitely playing more diverse lines than I was 6 months ago, but this just seems like digging through the cement walls out of a prison with a spoon

2. willhutch

willhutch Member

I think your experience is totally and completely and utterly typical. It takes months and months for stuff to become available with no conscious thought.

It sound like you have a few new licks ready to serve. Just keep up the hard work. When you reflect back in another 6 months, you'll find more stuff has seeped into your playing.

I like your digging out of jail with a spoon analogy. That IS what it's like. The good news is that sometimes we look at the tunnel behind us and get to say "Gee, I've dug a long way".

It sound like a good time to remind myself of smething I've been saying for years: "One thing that I can actually play is better than 10 things I cannot actually play". That is to say, working a few things to mastery is better than being able to play a bunch of things in a half-assed way.

3. chopsley

chopsley Silver Supporting Member

If you're playing against backing tracks, it may not even be "appropriate" to play some of those substitutions. If you can, find someone who's good at comping, i.e. someone who'll respond to what you're playing and adjust the harmony accordingly.